my 60s tee

back in the late 60s

1968, 1969… This was one of my first creations!

Back then fun branded tees were a biggy in fashion: Mickey Mouse, Superman, Batman, Donald Duck etc… I stole took one of my dad’s Penmans undershirts and with a paint brush and a cup of bleach, I dotted, splashed, drew on it. I had placed a newspaper inside the tee which fit vertically up & down the length of it, to ensure that only the front would be bleached

I was pleased with the results, but the more I wore this tee, the more the bleached designs turned into holes! This might have been a good thing today with the ‘destroyed’ look, but back then it wasn’t so good!

Leave a Reply

